Seeing

image

“Glasses” - taken with Samsung Galaxy Note II and processed with Instagram

Prayer is a wonderful thing and answers to prayer are predictably unpredictable.  A few weeks ago we were all enjoying ourselves in the sea, splashing and swimming, jumping and generally having a great time. After a particularly big splash I noticed my glasses had come off (of course I shouldn’t have been wearing my glasses in the sea but my eyesight is very poor without them).

We searched and searched the sandy sea bed for quite a while before finally conceding that the sea was very big and my lost glasses very small.  As we searched we prayed and I remember feeling disappointed that God did not reveal to us where the fallen glasses were.

Over the next 10 days or so we must have visited the beach another 4 or 5 times, we didn’t even bother to look for the glasses.

Then one evening, approximately 2 weeks after the time I had lost the glasses we set out for the beach again. Sonja was driving and as we arrived she parked at a spot along the wall.  It was inch perfect.  I looked out of my window and I was amazed, there were my glasses, on the wall right next to me! They were in remarkably good condition for having been lost in the sand under three feet of water over two weeks previously…

I wound down my window and picked them up. As I did so I thanked God for answered prayer. I imagined (or did I) a feint friendly chuckle in reply…

3 Comments to “Seeing”

  1. What a wonderful and amazing story…thanks for sharing!

  2. … and thank you both for reading and commenting :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 126 other followers

