Roll 24

It is just over a year since I developed my first black and white film, (you can read that post here).  So roll 24 means that I am averaging two films a month – hope you are blown away by my mathematical skill :-/

It’s been great fun and it’s been a steep learning curve; I’ve lost pictures because of not developing them properly which is frustrating, but I’ve also learnt a lot about picture taking, composition, timing, light and so on.  Film photography, especially with an old manual camera and a prime (fixed focal length) lens really forces you to slow down and think about the picture you are taking, and it is also great fun.  So here’s a few pictures from roll 24…

Dreaming of Spring

“Dreaming of Spring”

Charlie

Charlie

1101apx019

Early Sunday morning near the Timoleague Road

Out of the Cave

“Out of the Cave” at Simon’s Cove

Rock Patterns #2

Rock Patterns at Simon’s Cove

Icicles

Icicles

Ice patterns

Ice patterns on a window

(Details: Camera – Olympus OM-1, lens – Zuiko 50mm f1.4, Film – Agfa APX 100, Developer – Rodinal (8 minutes @ 20°C) – Scanner Epson 4490)

4 Comments to “Roll 24”

  1. I like the “ice patterns on a window” shot. Nicely abstract.

    • Thank you. Many mornings there is ice on that window yet for some strange reason that particular morning it was arranged in these amazing fractal patterns…

  2. Those are nice pictures especially the cave. I use film but I rarely develop my own because it is a risky business.

    • Thank you. Yes I know what you mean, but it is also great fun. I started out by reading this pdf the Ilford website, it has all the info you need to know – and you don’t even need a darkroom!

Leave a Reply

