Charlie

Charlie

We were heading out as a family on Friday evening and had just driven a few hundred metres onto the main road when we saw the body of our cat ‘Charlie’ lying there.  He had only recently been knocked down as his body was still warm and limp, though quite lifeless.  I carried him home and we buried him in the garden the next morning.

I remember reading a church magazine years ago where there was a section called ‘The Wise Owl”.  People wrote letters (this was before the days of email) asking questions about the Christian life and the Wise Owl would answer.  I remember one letter written by a young boy whose dog had died, asking if his dog would go to heaven.  The Wise Owl said ‘no’ (albeit in a very long-winded fashion).  I could not help but think the the Owl may be wise, but sensitive and gracious he was not.

I would like to think that Scripture is silent on the issue because it is not something we need to know.  Perhaps in the life that is to come we may be surprised by many things and one of those surprises might just possibly be a reuniting with those pets whom we have loved and lost.  I hope so anyway.

3 Responses to “Charlie”

  1. I lost my beloved pet cat the same way when I was a boy. It was one of the most traumatic events of my life – in many ways I am still affected by that loss even to this day. Our Lord said that not even a sparrow falls to the ground without God noticing. I think it reasonable believe that all life is precious in His sight – hopefully precious enough that some of the many mansions that await us may be also for the creatures that St Francis saw as being our brothers and sisters too.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

