In the quiet place

In the quiet place

Yesterday gave me an interesting and slightly uncomfortable insight into myself.  Those days before Easter Sunday, ‘Holy Week’ are perhaps the busiest days of the year; there is much to do in the way of visiting parishioners and preparing for the many services which take place.  It is hard to relax much during this season, though I have found that family time in the garden, whether it be kicking a ball around with my sons or just spending precious time with my better half in the late spring sunshine are great antidotes to the stress which inevitably builds up.

So I found myself at a clergy ‘Quiet afternoon’ yesterday, needing to be still, having to be quiet in the midst of the busiest week of the year.  I felt like a sailor trying to steer a ship in the middle of a storm and being asked to let go of the ropes (for a while) and sit down and do nothing.  ‘Preposterous’ my ego was telling me, ‘how could you do nothing at a time like this?’  It was very difficult at first to even sit still and my mind was swilrling with the maelstrom of all that still needs to be done, but slowly, gradually I averted my gaze away from the hectic busyness and focused for a brief but golden moment on what really matters and what it is all about.  Jesus.

This morning I remembered a song by Andy Park.  Perhaps I should listen to it more :-)

In the secret, in the quiet place
In the stillness You are there
In the secret, in the quiet hour I wait only for You
’Cause I want to know You more

I want to know You
I want to hear Your voice
I want to know You more
I want to touch You
I want to see Your face
I want to know You more

I am reaching for the highest goal
That I might receive the prize
Pressing ownward, pushing every hindrance aside, out of my way
’Cause I want to know You more

Leave a Reply

