Tranquility

1104Velvia_036It was a lovely still evening, I had to feel a bit sorry for those in their sailing boats, almost going nowhere.  But then that’s O.K. isn’t it?  It’s good to not always be rushing around but occasionally just sit back and drift a while, feeling the cool evening breeze on your face and listening to the gentle movement of the water.

The apostles gathered around Jesus and reported to him all they had done and taught. Then, because so many people were coming and going that they did not even have a chance to eat, he said to them, “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.”

So they went away by themselves in a boat to a solitary place.

Mark 6:30-32

2 Comments to “Tranquility”

  1. Daniel,
    Your sea scene reminds me of this.
    Thanks for the memories.
    Pat

    THE PALACE OF NEPTUNE
    Oh! To witness dawns first light on this summer’s morning
    With no threatening dark clouds on my horizon looming,
    No fears of gales to split my sails,
    Or leave me hanging off the rails.
    Savouring the touch of a salty breeze that’s unassuming,
    My weary limbs its glad receiver,
    As smooth and light, it cools my fever.

    Sitting here on the roof of Neptune’s palace,
    My mind free from all thoughts callous,
    Sipping liquid fruit from a silver chalice,
    The grain from my harvest, my stable ballast.

    The sun, the moon, and stars, my guiding light,
    The blue sky my roof, for this day and night,
    Sing praise! Sing praise! With all my might,
    As I languish in the beauty of my sight,
    And bow to the wisdom of all things right,
    While I pity the wretched that are left to their plight.

    In the evening of my day,
    In the lateness of May
    Blue is the ocean that lies before me,
    Blue is the sky that bows to meet it,
    Believable the illusion of their perfect fit,
    When viewed from this vantage point where I sit,
    Sea, sail, spar, and breeze my quartet,
    My course I have set for the golden sunset.

    P.G.Culleton…November1998.

    • Pat – thank you, that is a beautiful poem and I am honoured that it is now part of my blog. Great to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

