January has flown by!

Winged head

January has to be my least favourite month of the year but now it is coming to an end I have to say that it hasn’t been too bad this year.  The weather has been ridiculously mild, (especially compared to the last two years) and for a month that normally drags on it just seems to have flown by this year.  January is usually a fairly quiet month work wise, but not this year.  Lots of good stuff is happening in the parish at the moment; the three mid-week home / bible study / worship groups are going well and it’s really exciting to see people getting involved and using their God-given gifts to make a difference in all sorts of ways.  Perhaps we are slowly beginning to open the door to the 21st century and realise that it’s not as scary as we thought it would be…

The interesting headstone above is is the graveyard of Timoleague Abbey, which I drive past several times a week.  I had noticed it on an earlier visit and so when I had a bit of time on my hands on the way back from Courtmacsherry earlier this month I stopped and another look.  I find this winged head fascinating – does it represent the persons soul flying away or does it represent the fleeting nature of life, is it a type of Angel?  I don’t know.  I found a good article on these motifs here.

Leave a Reply

