You’re the colour of my world.

DSC_1559.jpg

Driving along listening to a C.D. by the Rend Collective Experiment, a line caught my attention and reawakened an old, precious memory.  The song is called ‘Exalt‘ and the line I got so excited about is the title of this post, ‘You’re the colour of my world.’  The music brought me back to when I was nineteen, when after several years of ‘off and on’ trying to understand Christianity and Jesus in particular, one afternoon as I was reading the Bible, it was like everything suddenly made sense.  It was a ‘Eureka’ moment; Jesus, the cross, my sin, His forgiveness just suddenly all made sense.  I knelt, I prayed and was overcome with sheer blissful happiness at the newfound realisation of God’s love for me, even me.  It felt akin to seeing everything in black and white throughout my whole life until that point and now suddenly I was seeing in colour for the first time!  I ran downstairs and much to my poor Mother’s amusement and confusion I shouted out ‘Mum, Mum, I know everything!’  Of course I didn’t know even the tiniest fraction of ‘everything’ but at that brief moment it felt like I did; even though I was less than the minutest speck in the universe I actually mattered to God and He actually cared about me…

Here’s the rest of the lyrics to ‘Exalt’:

I’m bare before You, O risen Jesus.
I can’t hide from You, Your kindness is too strong.
Today You kneel, You wash my feet,
Where the dirt of sin has harmed me.
Who has heard of such majesty?
Glorious One, I let down the walls again.
There’s nothing that’s sweeter than Your friendship,
There’s nothing that’s greater than Your Lordship.

I exalt You, I exalt You,
I exalt You and enjoy You.
I exalt You, I exalt You, I exalt You,
You’re the colour of my world.
You’re the colour of my world.

There’s nothing that’s sweeter than Your friendship,
There’s nothing that’s greater than Your Lordship.
There’s nothing that’s stronger than Your overwhelming grace,
And Your truth is my wide open space.

You are my sight, my life’s guide;
Though I’m blind, You brighten the way.
The troubles they are many,
And I feel I’m losing,
But You rescue me in Your time.
Glorious One, You redeem all my mistakes;
There’s nothing that’s stronger than Your overwhelming grace,
And Your truth is my wide open space.

Leave a Reply

