Faithful

 

As I came around the corner the Labrador looked up expectantly at me, then realising that I was not the human he was hoping for, his ears dropped and he resumed his quiet and patient vigil.

When I was growing up we had a dog similar to this one.  He used to be my alarm clock in the morning, bounding up the stairs, and jumping on my bed as if to say ‘get up, do you know what time it is?’  When I came home on visits from boarding school he would practically knock me over with canine exuberance.  He was like a member of the family and even though I had long left home when he died, I missed him very much.  My experience this morning makes me realise that I still do miss him at times…

He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog.  You are his life, his love, his leader. He will be yours, faithful and true, to the last beat of his heart. You owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion.

(Author Unknown)

Leave a Reply

