One camera & one lens (for one year)…

I’ve wanted to do this for a while, ever since I read Michael Johnston’s article “The Leica as Teacher”.  The idea is that in restricting yourself to one camera and one fixed focal length lens you begin to ‘see’ better as a photographer.  Also by only using black and white, you learn to look at patterns and textures, light and shade, things which are often forgotten in the splurge of colour.

So the set up is a Nikon D7000, which I have been using for the past year and a Nikon 35mm f1.8 lens, which I got recently for (an early) birthday present.

Really this should be done with a film camera (and ideally a Leica), but I don’t have a working film camera any more so I’m just using what I have.  Part of the challenge is to shoot at least two rolls of film a week (that is at least 72 exposures) – that’s a lot of pictures, but I will give it a go.  I’m looking forward to the challenge very much.  I plan to get the best photo from each month of the year printed so that at the end of the year to have a set of twelve prints to display on a wall somewhere in the house.

The year starts tomorrow 15th November and I’ve decided to do this project in a separate blog (as well as keeping this one going).  The blog can be found at:

http://onecameraonelens.wordpress.com

4 Comments to “One camera & one lens (for one year)…”

  1. Looking forward to this – All the best photographers say this is the way to go

  2. Very interesting project Daniel and I wish you the very best of luck with it and look forward to the results.
    On a similar note on my last holiday I settled on just a 20mm on Lumix Gx1. It is very liberating, forcing you to move rather than zoom.
    Best ‘o luck

    Tomas

    • Thanks Tomas – the GX1 and 20mm sounds like a very nice combination. Yes I will try to ‘zoom with my feet’ and see how I get on!

Leave a Reply

