Archive for October 19th, 2011

October 19, 2011

Letting go…

I came across this wonderful sculpture on a recent walk around Bantry.  Nearby is a plaque which reads:

The Spirit of Love

In remembrance of those who lost their lives in the waters of Bantry Bay.

Peace, kind reader, do not cry
Nor pass not, pass not quickly by
Surely we shall meet again
No more to part, no more to die
Saviour of the mighty sea
Let us find repose in Thee.
(Written by Donal Fitzgerald)

Artist’s note

This sculpture expresses the compassion of the people of Bantry and Ireland for men, women and children of all races and creeds who lost their lives in this bay.

The two figures convey love, loss, anguish, forgiveness, peace, reaching, letting go…

Paddy Campbell, 2006

Hmm, two posts now about loss.  Sometimes people ask me how I cope with all the loss and pain I come across in visiting homes around the parish.  The answer is that I talk about it with God in the place of prayer, I talk about those aspects that are not confidential with my better half and usually in some kind of abstract way it comes out in this blog too…

But thank God! He gives us victory over sin and death through our Lord Jesus Christ.

(1 Corinthians 15:57, NLT)